The Farrar, Straus and Giroux Poetry Blog

March 19, 2007

Louise Glück

GluckLouise Glück is the author of numerous books of poetry, including The Seven Ages (Ecco Press, 2001); Vita Nova (1999), winner of Boston Book Review’s Bingham Poetry Prize; Meadowlands (1996); The Wild Iris (1992), which received the Pulitzer Prize and the Poetry Society of America’s William Carlos Williams Award; Ararat (1990), for which she received the Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry; and The Triumph of Achilles (1985), which received the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Boston Globe Literary Press Award, and the Poetry Society of America’s Melville Kane Award. She has also published a collection of essays, Proofs and Theories: Essays on Poetry (1994), which won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for Nonfiction. Her other honors include the Bollingen Prize in Poetry, the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, and fellowships from the Guggenheim foundation, the Rockefeller foundation, and from the National Endowment for the Arts. In 1999 she was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. In the fall of 2003, Glück assumed her duties as the Library of Congress’s twelfth Poet Lareate Consultant in Poetry. Also in 2003, she was named as the new judge for the Yale Series of Younger Poets. She currently teaches at Yale. Her most recent collection, Averno, was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 2005 and was nominated for a National Book Award.

You can read more about Louise Glück here.